What exactly counts as a credit?

Friday, June 30, 2006 9:03 AM
We generally have a simple rule, every time you ride a different coaster it counts as a credit. There are some ambiguities, however:

Coasters that have moved to another park.

Coasters in traveling carnivals (How do you tell if two rides of the same type are the exact same ride or not?)

Coasters that have been greatly modified (eg. those two big coasters at Kennywood-- Are Steel Phantom and Phantom's Revenge separate credits? What about Pippin and Thunderbolt?)

Racing and dueling coasters (Does each side count as a separate credit? Does this depend upon whether the tracks are completely separate? Is a backward ride a separate credit from a forward ride (eg. Rebel Yell, PKI Racer)

Gravity powered dark rides such as those at CLP and Camden. (Are they coasters?)

Summer rides on bobsled runs with wheeled sleds (Does this count?)

Drop towers (I don't count them but the now defunct SFAW included theirs in their coaster count when advertising)

Arthur Bahl

Friday, June 30, 2006 9:12 AM
My rules go something like this: who cares? Not to be rude or anything but I am tired of hearing about "credits" as if that is all that matters. I ride stuff to have fun, not to rack up credentials on message boards.

For the record though, I always thought that Intamin 1st generation free falls should be considered coasters (complete circuit, lift hill, runs on rails, gravity driven, etc.) and those "impulse coasters" should not be called coasters (mostly powered and they seem more like a flat ride to me). But what the hell do I know?

Friday, June 30, 2006 9:34 AM
Obviously nothing ;)
Friday, June 30, 2006 9:56 AM
I used to try to keep records and keep up with what is considered "credits" and what is not and then just got confused and found there are way too many people thinking way to far into it, so I agree completely millrace, I go on coasters for fun, I don't even count them anymore, and I only got up to twenty something (the something since I was confused as to which were "credits" and which weren't) before I stopped and found it a waste of my time. For some people that is the fun in it I guess but I hate people who are like "well I have X amount more credits so I know far more then you" or "you only have X amount of credits and really need to get out more", which I have seen before believe it or not and found it really pathetic. Everyone has different opinions so anyone voicing theirs will only bring up people who disagree which will bring up IMO a tired debate. *** Edited 6/30/2006 1:57:21 PM UTC by P18***
Friday, June 30, 2006 10:30 AM
Acoustic Viscosity's avatar Wait for Andy's response. He knows the rules! ;)

AV Matt
Long live the Big Bad Wolf

Friday, June 30, 2006 10:31 AM
I count coasters but not for comparison reasons, I just like to keep track of where I've been and what I've ridden. Any statistics are for my own personal satisfaction and nothing else.

Besides, comparing track records is virtually impossible because it's NEVER apples to apples. Some people count all racers as two rides, some people (like myself) do it when the two sides offer very different rides (Dueling Dragons, etc.) Some people count relocated coasters, some people count only relocated coasters if they changed (like Frontier City's Wildcat). Some people count Freefalls and even some log flume, others (like myself) count gravity-powered darkrides like Conneaut's Devil's Den because they have a lot in common with wood coasters. To each his/her own...

Friday, June 30, 2006 10:34 AM
Does anybody keep track of rides other than coasters? It can be interesting for certain type of unique or rare rides. darkrides, whips, etc.
Friday, June 30, 2006 10:43 AM
Mamoosh's avatar Arthur - the answer is simple: whichever method you feel comfortable with is the one that is right for you.
Friday, June 30, 2006 10:46 AM
I keep a track of all Tumble Bugs and Circle Swings that I ride!
Friday, June 30, 2006 11:05 AM
I use the Coasterbuzz track record, since I'm a club member. Here are some rules though if you're not:

a) If a ride has been modified such as Steel Phantom into Phantom's Revenge, then obviously those are two very different rides--2 credits Did you actually ride Pippen, or are you using it as an example? But again, 2 credits

b)The old Racing/Dueling question. Coasterbuzz doesn't count American Eagle as two credits, but does count Lightning Racer as two separate rides because the tracks do different things. I believe it's the same for Dueling Dragons.

c) Bobsleds absolutely count. Avalanche, Disaster Transport, and La Vibora are all in my track record.

d) A drop tower is not a roller coaster, so you wouldn't count that unless you had a separate track record for drop towers.

But again, it's whatever you feel comfortable with. No one is going to knock you down because you have two less credits than they do because of how they've organized their track record versus how you've organized your track record. All that really matters is that you've both been on the same ride.

Friday, June 30, 2006 11:11 AM
rollergator's avatar There's really only one rule: If I say it counts, it counts... ;)

Space Mtn. (WDW-MK) contains two coasters! LOL! :)

Friday, June 30, 2006 11:13 AM
I think Arthur meant alpine slides when he mentioned "bobsleds" and not bobsled-style roller coasters
Friday, June 30, 2006 11:26 AM
^Ooops, I totally read that wrong. I'm just waking up, and there's a guy chewing off my ear at work, in spite of the fact that I told him I'm tired.

But since Arthur brought it up, I just rode the alpine slide at the KY Action Park near Mammoth Caves, two weeks ago. I definitely wouldn't count it as a credit though. It's missing quite a few things that would qualify it as a coaster in my book. For example, you have to take a chairlift to ride one. I can't think of any coasters that require a ride on a chairlift to get on them. I can't think of any coasters in which I'm in control of the speed or braking.

Maybe where Arthur was getting that confused is that my friend told me that a certain [not to be named website] has a [not to be named] couple who count them as credits.

Friday, June 30, 2006 11:29 AM
Yes, I also keep a "track record" - but I agree it's STRICTLY for my own amusement - it serves as a sort of "scrap book" for where I've been. I don't talk about it unless asked. My rule is simple - any rides that are questionable (as far as being a coaster) get logged in my DB as a "kiddie" ride. That way, I can always search for Junior & Adult rides for an honest, conservative count. As far as dual/triple track rides - simple: mirror image or parallel routes - one ride; different profiles - two rides. I count an Alpine Slide if it has a lift hill, not if you walk up or take a ski lift. (And since we're talking about it - 648 coaster @ 191 parks. ;) )
Back-seat air-time whore.
Friday, June 30, 2006 12:15 PM
My strategy with traveling coasters is to try to identify and categorize by carnival operator. Yeah I guess rides sometimes pass from one to another, but in most cases I figure the Farrow Shows "dragon wagon" is different than Ray Cammack's.
Friday, June 30, 2006 12:23 PM
I guess a good rule of thumb to use would be the RCDB and/or Coasterbuzz. If they say it's a coaster, then you might as well count it as a coaster.

To me, where it tends to get hairy is the racing/dueling ones. Yes, certain ones that are definitely unique paths, like B&R and DD, are definitely 2 coasters. But what about racers like Racer, Rebel Yell, Colossus, etc. The first 2 have mirror layouts and run one side backwards, so should that count as 1 or 2? And Colossus has them running parallel almost the entire ride, but sometimes they run one side backwards, so does that count as 1 or 2?

The only type of racer that I would definitely consider as 1 would be the continuous track ones, like Kennywood's Racer. You technically haven't ridden the whole ride until you ride from both boarding places, since it's one long track.

And what the heck do ya do with something like S:TE? It's got 2 tracks, and some people don't even consider it a coaster! Personally, I'd count it as 1.

As for freefalls, dark rides, and alpine slides--I'd say no. Intamin Fan has a good enough description for the alpine slides issue. 2nd-gen freefalls are definitely a no, and I'd also say no to the 1st-gen ones, as well. It's basically an elevator that gets dropped down a track and you end up on your back. And dark rides? Please--they don't claim to be coasters, so what would you even try and finagle the credit?

For coasters that have been modified in layout significantly, such as SP vs. PR, I'd say count it as 2, since they are fairly different. Coaster that have been moved but remained the same--they should only be counted once.

As for travelling coasters, just do your best. You could also ask some of the carnival people if you're really desperate :) *** Edited 6/30/2006 4:28:53 PM UTC by rablat5***

coastin' since 1985

Friday, June 30, 2006 12:30 PM
boblogone's avatar North American Credit Whores And Coaster Counters (Knack Whackers) is currently updating its list of possible credits. The recent Cedar Fair purchase is adding numerous credits to the list of possibilities so lots of parks will need revisiting in the future. ;) *** Edited 6/30/2006 4:33:50 PM UTC by boblogone***
Friday, June 30, 2006 12:52 PM
I don't see why most people dont consider racing coasters (mirrors) to count as two. They are two completly different pieces of track which are not connected. They are basically the same as riding 2 different Deja Vu's. they just happen to be alot closer to each other than most clone coasters. I figure if its a completly seperate track then it is its own coaster.
The Only Thing Worst Then Dieing, Is Living And Having Nothing Worth Dieing For.
Friday, June 30, 2006 12:57 PM
It's your list. Count whatever you like.

I develop Retro Games for macOS, iPhone, and iPad when not riding coasters.

Friday, June 30, 2006 1:21 PM
I'm pretty muxh with Intamin Fan on this one. I can see counting Gwazi as two rides because I can think of things I like about each track. A coaster like Rebel Yell is basically the same thing, just mirrored. I would count it twice if the structures were separated and built in different areas of the park but when it's billed as one attraction, I count it as such.

Makes me wonder what category Rolling Thunder falls into...


You must be logged in to post

POP Forums - ©2021, POP World Media, LLC