I tried doing a search for this in various past threads relating to counting credits but failed to find exactly what I was looking for. If you find a previous post that relates to this, please post it. Anyway, next weekend I'm going to be going to BGT and will be riding the new Cheetah Chase mouse. This is the first time that I have had the chance to ride a relocated coaster that I had allready ridden at it's previous park and am debating on whether to count it as a new credit or not. Initially I was going to count it, my reasoning being that you had to make the effort to travel to a new park to get it, but now I'm not so sure. Is there some kind of general concensus on how to count these or does everyone think that it's basically up to your own opinion? Please post your thoughts and opinions on this.
We don’t count both side of a symmetrical racer, but we do count clones. I vote “yes” based on the two park experience. You should get more credit than someone who just rode it at one place. But I can see the other side of this too.
We? Get more credit? Someone's obviously going about this the wrong way.
The point of counting is not to compare your enthusiasm to anyone else's nor to measure anything other than whatever you want to measure. There's no general consensus on anything and there's certainly no "we."
If you want to count clone as the same and relocated coaster as 7.5 on Tuesdays, but 3.5 on Wed when it's a full moon but only if you rode in the front, do it. Heck, I'm tempted to start counting drop towers as credits.
Bottom line: If you're counting credits for anyone other than yourself, you're halfway to becoming an enthusiass.
It is interesting that you think there is no "we" and then you apply a general rule to everyone on what their intentions should be if they don't want to get halfway to being labeled by you. I don't think I am approaching this the wrong way, and I am not halfway to being an "enthusiass" just because you say so. You don't know what my intentions are. Stop reading things into posts that are not there. You don't know me or know why I count coasters. I was just trying to help the guy make his decision.
I've seem the threads, read the debates, but never developed much of an opinion since I seem to ride much less than most people who post here. My "track record" never really mattered much to me anyway, with the exception getting to ride coasters before they go to coaster-heaven, but that's another topic entirely. But hearing the argument that the enviroment a coaster is in, and how it is maintained can count it as an extra credit got me thinking. It got me to change my mind. First I disagreed w/ Moosh, thinking enviroment and maintenance makes a moved coaster unique. My response to the analogy listed was "yeah it's the same car, but the freeways are WAY different". But now that I'm thinking about it, enviroment and upkeep changes the same coaster in the same location over the years. So based on that argument we could count Texas Giant '89 as one coaster and Texas Giant '04 as another, IMHO. That doesnt work for me, so I'm sticking to the "it only counts as one" argument. Two track coasters I count as two, because, duh, there's two of them! ;-) *** Edited 4/29/2004 12:34:28 AM UTC by Zingo!***EDIT FOR CLARITY (twice!i'm sleepy) *** Edited 4/29/2004 12:36:43 AM UTC by Zingo!***
I may pinch a nerve w/ some people but whats the point of counting coasters anyway?? I mean i go to parks i enjoy them. I think it will take away from my park experience if i have to take out a stratch pad and record what coaster and how many times i been on it. Its kinda.........well.........geekish to me. Am i missing something here. What does the count get you anyway, prizes, respect, im totally lost...........I guess i just have other things to keep a record of..........
Not pinching my nerve. I agree 100%. I always have to laugh at my "credit whore" friends. I can never understand why enthusiats will wait in a 45min. line for a Vekoma boomerang just so they can have the "credit". It's about quality not quantity.
mOOSH: Personally, I count same coaster in different location, by using this analogy-If i move from L.A. to NYC(Hmmm...I think I know why you're in NYC too....To be closer to me;)), and take my house with me, I'd have a totally different address, so I would legally have a different home, in a way, but that's just my biased opinion, taken w/ a grain of salt by you roughians.
RavenTTD: Calm Down! No one was attacking you or calling you a name. Andy was generalizing. You're new here, maybe you should take some time to feel your way around this first month of being signed up before starting something. I've seen you be unneccissarily(sp?) rude to more than one person.
As for coaster counting, coasterbruh, I do it personally to keep up with what I've ridden, to keep the memories. And, please, don't go accusing someone here of being geekish, we're all geeks for posting on this board, so thats more Pot calling Kettle black and all.
I count every coaster I ride, clone, different location, racing/mirrored coasters. Thats how I do it, but thats just me, you're results may vary.
I don't think I'd count it. When I first started reading I thought I would, but the more I read others thoughts, I don't think it's an all new credit. It's a footnote to the previous credit (same coaster, 2 locations)
So what about a clone? (same coaster, 2 locations?) No, because there are two physical strcutures that could be placed next to each other and seen as two rides.
You couldn't put Wild Maus physically next to Cheetah Chase - it's one ride.
(/end coaster theology 101)
Counting it as two gets dangerously close to adding a credit for riding Dominator at GL this year even though B:KF is already on the list...
I only count it twice if the ride experience feels noticeably different. Example: Viper (now Greezed Lightnin at SFKK) feels much slower and has hangtime in the loop. Since it feels different, I count it twice.
I say that since you have no chance of winning the coaster count contest when you get to heaven anyway, count things however you want. My personal take is relocated rides only count if they are 'park models' as opposed to carnie models. Therefore I count Viper and GL as 2 credits, but wouldn't count Wild Izzy and Cheetah Chase, as it was designed as a portable ride according to RCDB.
Thanks for the replys everybody. Those are some very well thought out opinions on both sides of the topic (especially ThemeDesigner who pointed out that it is a portable model) and am glad that it got some people thinking. My initial posting of this thread was to start a conversation similar to those that have been had about counting racing coasters and dueling coasters and hearing different people's opinions on how they choose to count each. I hadn't found a thread yet that dealt with this and thought that it would be interesting to hear some thoughts. It was by no means a "I need to pad my count by one, help me decide" type of post, allthough by looking back at my original post, I can see how it may be perceived that way. Personally, I don't care if I count it or not but with my 200th coaster coming up, how I count it does impact my schedule and what I'm going to ride for it, which I would like to be somewhat special ;) By posting this, I am in no way saying that anyone in this thread was insinuating that but it's just a vibe I felt I gave off and thought that I would clarify where I was coming from with my original post. *** Edited 4/29/2004 4:24:53 AM UTC by Pale Rider***
Since I *just* got rides on Cheetah Chase today, I'll throw in that it IS truly a different ride this time. I personally won't count it again, but WOW! did they cut down on the braking. At BGW, I'm pretty sure I recall saying "check", and I intended to ride it today and report that it was the "same lame game with a new name"....it was NOT! The theming, LOL, was non-existent. but the RIDE.....let's just say that I had to "make do" with the three rides I got. The top level had NO braking whatsoever, and featured some really good "mOOSHing". After the U-turns, it had SOME braking, but overall a MUCH better ride...
I think this is the first coaster I've ridden in two locations....until I get to SFKK...:)