Counting relocated coasters

Thursday, April 29, 2004 3:43 PM
Personally I think it's just silly to count a moved ride as two credits. Mammoosh is totally right about the same coaster physically. If you ride coaster in it's new spot, it would be the same track you're travelling over. The ride has the same turns and twists. There can be a huge pimped out alien cruiser that you fly through, but you're still on the same track you've travelled before.

Now as for retracks, I say no if just one or two elements is changed(SFNE Cyclone), but if more than that ,count it as a new ride(Phantom's Revenge). Now if we're talking about typical retracking of wooden coasters(Last year's RWB at TPFKASFWOABKNAGL retracking) it doesn't count as that's just maintenaince.

And racers, it's two tracks. If they were 50 miles apart you'd count them as two coasters, so why not just because they have the same station?

My thoughts.

-----------
Mad DDR R&P switchups tommorrow!

+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 3:45 PM
What about racers with only one track?
+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 3:49 PM
As Gonch said, each "side" would be half a credit!
+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 3:57 PM
What do you think would be the reply is you asked someone just getting off of Kennywood's Racer, "So...did you enjoy your 1/2 coaster ride?" ;)
+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 4:03 PM
Lines. Lines. Lines.

One physical track.

Let me compare it a little to flat rides. You can ride two different programs on a ride, but you still aren't riding a different ride. Riding two sides of a moebius coaster is like riding two different programs.

It is a little bending of my physicality rule, but i'd have to count both sides of a moebius coaster as one.

+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 4:15 PM
Then what about the time I was riding Hersheypark's Comet in the front seat. Two kids behind me must have been very amused by the AFLAC commercial that featured the duck on Vancouver's Coaster. They kept quacking "Aflak! Aflak! Aflak!" through out the entire ride.

That was certainly different than any other experience I had on the Comet (More like a donkey ride through Hell than a coaster ride). Since the experience was SOOOOOOOOO different, I think I will count that as a different coaster too.

+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 4:35 PM

Mamoosh said:
What do you think would be the reply is you asked someone just getting off of Kennywood's Racer, "So...did you enjoy your 1/2 coaster ride?"

Half as good as I expected because I paid for a full ride!

+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 4:40 PM
You're the wind beneath my wings, Rob ;)
+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 4:55 PM
What about coasters like Thunderbolt (KW) and Flight of Fear, where you load and unload in different places? Since you never make a complete circuit, I guess you can't count those, either!
+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 5:03 PM
I'd like to know what happens if you ride a coaster for the first time and have to be evacuated from the lift. Does that count as a coaster ridden?

If I go to a defunct park such as Chippewa Lake and walk the structure of the coaster, is that a credit?

The possibilities are endless...

And thanks Moosh... I try my best to be just that! :)

+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 5:06 PM
If you WALK the tracks.....no. If however, you take your SegWay scooter on the lift, ramp it over the top, and let it "coast" on a defunct ride, you not only get to count it as a credit, you'll probably get a free ride on a helicopter....to the nearest ER of course. Who knows, if you're LUCKY enough to survive the ride unscathed, you might end up in the back of a paddy wagon instead...(another ride without any *credit*, LOL)....;)
+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 5:07 PM
"The possibilities are endless..."

Not if you count like I do ;)

+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 5:09 PM
The NACWCCA states that if you can justify it in 20 words or less you must include it in your count.

North American Credit Whores Coaster Counting Association, the final word on coaster counting. Unable to determine the size of our membership since the counting method keeps changing.

+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 5:12 PM
Now that was funny boblo
+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 5:14 PM
Is NACWCCA associated with NUTS [National Union of Thrillseekers]??
+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 5:16 PM
I have to say it, here it is:

I'm sure there is an association with CPO(formerly CPC), as they've been too quite too long, and need publicity;).

+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 5:24 PM
If it's one "attraction" it's one credit. Simple. So DD, all wood racers, Chiller, Primeval Whirl etc are all a single credit.

If an attraction moves to another location, you don't get another credit for riding it again.

If a coaster's choreography/layout/whatever changes "significantly" ie Steel Phantom/Phantom's Revenge then you get a second credit.

That's how I count. Everyone should please themselves. It's just a hobby :)

+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 5:27 PM

Martin V said:
Everyone should please themselves.

Ummmmmm.......no comment?!!?! ;)

+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 5:55 PM
Martin - nice to see there's someone else who knows the correct way to count coasters ;)

mOOSH

+0
Thursday, April 29, 2004 6:00 PM
For those of you that adhere to the “one attraction one credit” rule…let me ask you this. I went to SFGAd and on Chiller, Batman was down but Robin was going. I rode it. Do I get half a credit? I think I missed something unique by not riding Batman, but I still rode a complete coaster. As for the backwards thing, that is interesting. I had only counted Rebel Yell as one, but Kings Dominion did advertise the Backwards Rebel Yell as a new attraction when it opened. So if that is two now, what about a coaster like LoCoSuMo if you ride it both ways? I count them as one, but it makes you think.
+0

You must be logged in to post

POP Forums - ©2018, POP World Media, LLC
Loading...