Holiday World offers food alternatives for those with allergies

Posted Monday, May 12, 2008 3:02 PM | Contributed by Jeff

In observance of Food Allergy Week, Holiday World & Splashin’ Safari announced that several of its restaurants this season are offering a menu of pre-packaged foods which do not contain the eight most common food allergens — wheat, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, milk, soy and eggs.

Read more from The Courier & Press.

Related parks

Monday, May 12, 2008 8:24 PM
As someone who suffers from Celiac sprue, this is incredibly cool and makes me VERY happy to see. Thank you Holiday World for once again being ahead of the curve in subtle-but-significant way.
*** This post was edited by GregLeg 5/12/2008 8:26:19 PM ***
+0
Tuesday, May 13, 2008 4:10 AM
My soy allergy makes me stay away from alot of diners and fried foods...If only all amusement parks will grill everything (burn away the greases) like places such as Waldameer does, would be the first step in getting me to try new items.

My norm for an untried eatery is the grilled chicken or grilled chicken salad, but even most dressings have soy in them, which is listed as 'vegetable oil'...Growing up, Vegetable oil in the USA was a blend of canola, sunflower, olive and/or corn oil blends...nowadays it's Soybean oil, which is genetically altered so farmers don't lose the crop after spraying for pesticides...mmm...pesticides and some chemists' tinkering....no wonder it makes me sick :(

+0
Tuesday, May 13, 2008 9:40 AM
Yeah, I think soy allergies might be even more annoying than gluten sensitivities. In both cases there are MANY "hidden" ingredients that one has to be aware of.

Speaking of which, I'm particularly impressed by the attention to detail at Holiday World -- notice the mention of "gluten-free rice krispy treats". Even most people who know what gluten is wouldn't think that "rice krispies" would contain gluten, but most commercial cereals in the states contain barley-derived malt flavoring. (Barley and rye are on the "not safe" list of grains for people sensitive to gluten, in addition to the more commonly known wheat. That's why most beer is bad for us, too...)

+0
Tuesday, May 13, 2008 11:56 AM
Mmmmmmm.....gluuuuuuuten. Can I have your share, Greg? ;)
+0

You must be logged in to post

POP Forums - ©2018, POP World Media, LLC
Loading...